A Timeline of the Waltons - 1933 to 1969

Season 1 1933 John-Boy is 17 years old
    John-Boy falls in love with Jenny Pendleton
    John-Boy gets a job in the city to help pay for the deed to the family home
    John-Boy helps Verdie Grant learn to read
    Olivia is stricken with polio

Season 2   Zeb and Esther have a falling out
    Harley Foster arrives on the mountain and Verdie Grant takes a liking to him.
    Olivia experiences a miscarriage
    John-Boy graduates high school
    John-Boy buys a car for school

Season 3 1934 John-Boy begins College
    Jason starts performing with Bobby Bigelow's band
  1935 Grandpa has a heart attack
    Corabeth arrives on the mountain and marries Ike Godsey
    John & Olivia celebrate their 20th anniversary
    John expands the mill business

Season 4   Rev. Fordwick marries Ms. Hunter
    Jason is active with music study and performing in a band
    Jim-Bob falls in love with a wing-walker
    Erin falls in love with Chad Marshall
    Jim-Bob learns that he had a twin brother who died at birth
    John-Boy loses his first novel in a fire that nearly destroys the Walton home
  1936 John-Boy buys a printing press to publish a newspaper

Season 5   John-Boy publishes the first issue of his paper "The Blue Ridge Chronicle"
  1937 Jason starts to perform at the Dew Drop Inn
    John-Boy experiences the effects of Nazism
    Mary-Ellen meets Dr. Curt Wiliard
    Erin receives a proposal from Chad Marshall
    John-Boy witnesses the Hindenburg disaster
  1938 Jason experiences his first love
    John-Boy's first novel is published and he leaves for leaves for New York

Season 6 1939 Erin turns down a proposal from G.W. Haines
    Mary-Ellen gives birth to John Curtis
  1940 John finally pays off the mortgage only to re-mortgage to help Ike
    John and Olivia celebrate their 25th wedding anniversary
    Elizabeth breaks her legs in a fall from a log pile
    John-Boy returns home to help open a old mine
    John-Boy proposes to Daisy
    Grandma finally returns home 2 years after suffering a stroke

Season 7 1941 The family mourns Grandpa's death
    Jim Bob experiences his first love
    Boone Walton and Daisy Garner return to Walton's Mountain
    Elizabeth turns 13 years old
    Pearl Harbor is attacked and America enters WWII
    Curt Williard is assumed dead
  1942 Jason considers being a conscientious objector
    Olivia develops tuberculosis and leaves for a sanitarium in Arizona
    Ashley Longworth Jr. makes his first appearance
    Ben marries Cindy Branson

Season 8   Olivia returns home and John Boy is missing in action
    Rose Burton arrives with Jeffrey and Serina
    Ben and Cindy give birth to Virginia Walton
    Stanley Perkins arrives on the mountain
  1944 John Boy returns from the hospital
    Jim Bob Graduates high school
    Jason begins dating Toni Hazelton
    Elizabeth begins dating Drew Cutler

Season 9 1945 Ben is captured as a prisoner of war
    The war comes to an end
    Mary-Ellen discovers that her husband Curt Williard is alive and in Florida
    John leaves the mountain to take Olivia back to the sanitorium in Arizona
    Rose marries Stanley Perkins
    Erin meets Paul Northbridge

Movie #1 1947 Erin marries Paul Northbridge

Movie #2   The family gets together for Mother's Day
    Mary Ellen marries Jonesy

Movie #3   The family gathers for Thanksgiving

Movie #4 1963 The family gathers for Thanksgiving
    They are shocked by the assassination of JFK

Movie #5   John-Boy marries Janet
    Jason and Toni give birth to Patsy Kline

Movie #6 1969 The family gathers together for Easter
    John-Boy reports on the first moon landing
    Janet gives birth to John-Boy's twins

Follow us on Facebook YouTube Pinterest

About this Site / Links Contact Us FAQ
  Main Menu
The Episodes

- Season One
- Season Two
- Season Three
- Season Four
- Season Five
- Season Six
- Season Seven
- Season Eight
- Season Nine

The Movie Specials
Spencer's Mountain
The Homecoming
Search Site
The Cast
- John
- Olivia
- Grandpa
- Grandma
- John-Boy
- Jason
- Mary Ellen
- Erin
- Ben
- Jim-Bob
- Elizabeth
- The In-Laws
- Extended Family
- Kinfolk
- Pets & Critters
- Locals
- School Friends
- Town Folk
The Guests
- Season One
- Season Two
- Season Three
- Season Four
- Season Five
- Season Six
- Season Seven
- Season Eight
- Season Nine
The Show
- The Waltons
  Cast Today

- Themes
- Timeline
- Articles
- Thanksgiving - The Garden Shed
The Music
- Season One
- Season Two
- Season Three
- Season Four
- Season Five
- Season Six
- Season Seven
- Season Eight
- Season Nine
- Movie Specials
The Fans
- Fan Clubs
- Facebook Groups
- The Walton   Museum
- Reunions

- Autographs
- Trip to Schuyler

The Merchandise
- Home Video
- Paperbacks & Books
- Music Albums
- Sheet Music
- Lunchbox
- Action figures
- Playsets
- Trading Cards
- Boardgame
- Dinky Truck
- Paper Dolls
- View master
- Children's Book #1
- Children's Book #2
- Activity Books
- Foreign Products
- Unofficial Products
- Biographies
- Walton's Bird House

The Production
- Awards
- Behind the Camera
- Bloopers
- Cast off the Set
- Crew Listing
- Design of the Show
- Directing The Waltons
- Filming Locations
- Influences on Culture
- In Memoriam
- Interviews
- Kami's Memories
- Lorimar Productions
- Sets, Structures
- Specials & Docs
- Water Fountain
The Creator
- The REAL John-Boy
- The REAL Waltons
- The REAL Mountain
- Apples's Way
- Earl Hamner Storyteller
- Earl Hamner Memorial